Balsom, Alison


8. Sep 2014

Barcode: 0825646327898

Komponist: Satie, Ravel, Messiaen, Django Reinhardt

Alison brings her glamour, poise and dazzling virtuosity to Paris with a selection of music written in and inspired by the most romantic city in the world.

“The Parisian concept developed organically the more I looked for music that I loved, that could work in this sound world,” explains Alison. “I spent a key part of my musical life in Paris at the Conservatoire, and whilst this album is anything but a stereotype of a 'Parisian' sound, every track has a link to the world of Paris. I should admit though, that on the first day of recording even the musicians asked if we were making two separate albums, the pile of music on their stands being so wildly diverse and unexpected...”

Accessible yet surprising at every turn, the programme ranges from 20th-century French composers (Satie, Ravel, Messiaen) to jazz (Django Reinhardt) and popular chanson française (Joseph Kosma), all in enchanting arrangements for trumpet.

Hörprobe & Tracklisting

Disc 1 
01 Satie: Gymnopédie No.3  - Alison Balsom 
02 Piazzolla: Café 1930  - Alison Balsom 
03 Piazzolla: Oblivion  - Alison Balsom 
04 Legrand: La Valse des Lilas  - Alison Balsom 
05 Messiaen: Vingt regards sur l'enfant Jésus: (Le baiser de l'enfant Jésus): I. Très lent, calme  - Alison Balsom 
06 Messiaen: Vingt Regards sur l'Enfant Jésus: (Le Baiser de l'Enfant Jésus): II. Modéré  - Alison Balsom 
07 Messiaen: Vingt Regards sur l'Enfant Jésus: (Le Baiser de l'Enfant Jésus): III. Modéré  - Alison Balsom 
08 Ravel: Pièce en forme de habanera  - Alison Balsom 
09 Ravel: Piano Concerto in G: II. Adagio assai  - Alison Balsom 
10 Satie: Gnossiennes: III. Lent  - Alison Balsom 
11 Kosma: Les feuilles mortes (Autumn Leaves) - instrumental version  - Alison Balsom 
12 Reinhardt: Nuages  - Alison Balsom 
13 Duke: April in Paris  - Alison Balsom 
14 Kosma: Les feuilles mortes (Autumn Leaves) - vocal version  - Alison Balsom 

Tracklisting in die Zwischenanblage kopieren