Chailly conducts Mendelssohn

1. Jan 2006

Barcode: 0880242546685

Komponist: Felix Mendelssohn
Mitwirkende: Riccardo Chailly, Anne Schwanewilms, Petra-Maria Schnitzer, Peter Seiffert, Gewandhaus Choir, Chor der Oper Leipzig, Leipzig Gewandhaus Orchestra

Anne Schwanewilms, soprano; Petra-Maria Schnitzer, soprano; Peter Seiffert, tenor
GewandhausChoir; Chor der Oper Leipzig; Leipzig Gewandhaus Orchestra
Riccardo Chailly

Riccardo Chailly’s inaugural concert as Kapellmeister of the Leipzig Gewandhaus Orchestra in September 2005 was a feast of music by Mendelssohn, the orchestra’s first conductor. Capturing the full atmosphere of this unique musical event, the DVD includes an overwhelming performance of Mendelssohn’s Second Symphony “Lobgesang” with its celebratory choral last movement and the ever-popular overture “A Midsummer Night’s Dream” – both from critically revised new editions. Anne Schwanewilms and Peter Seiffert are the outstanding vocal soloists. The Gewandhaus Orchestra can look back on its history with pride - it has evolved into one of the world’s most renowned orchestras working with the best international conductors. The bonus film “Chailly in Leipzig: The Gewandhaus Orchestra welcomes its new Kapellmeister” allows a glimpse into this new and fruitful relationship.

Felix Mendelssohn: Overture to "A Midsummer Night's Dream" Op.21, Psalm 114 Op.51, Sinfonie-Kantate in B flat major Op.52; Wolfgang Rihm: "Lobgesang"

Chailly in Leipzig – The Gewandhaus Orchestra welcomes its new Kapellmeister