Grigory Sokolov -
Live in Paris

1. Jun 2009

Barcode: 0899132000954

Mitwirkende: Grigory Sokolov, Bruno Monsaingeon

Grigory Sokolov, piano; Bruno Monsaingeon, director

A dim light picks out the outlines of the hall. Suddenly a massive shadow appears and moves swiftly over to the keyboard. There follows the vaguest of unsmiling acknowledgements in the general direction of the audience, and then the music begins. Throughout the next two hours, this music will keep it’s listener enthralled with it’s extraordinary intensity as the audience senses the formidable physical, pianistic, musical and emotional presence of this most secretive of present-day pianists, Grigory Sokolov.

Ludwig van Beethoven: Piano Sonata No.9 in E major; Piano Sonata No.10 in G major; Piano Sonata No.15 in D major “Pastoral” Komitas Vardapet: Six Dances for Piano Sergueï Prokofiev: Piano Sonata No.7 in B flat major Rappels: Frédéric Chopin (1810–1849) : Mazurka in C sharp minor, op. 63 no. 3; Mazurka in F minor, op. posthume 68 no. 4 François Couperin: Le Tic-Toc-Choc ou Les Maillotins; Soeur Monique Jean-Sebastian Bach: Prelude in B minor (after BWV 855a) Arr.: Alexander Siloti