Royal Opera, The

Samson et Dalila

13. Feb 2006

Barcode: 5051011228322

Komponist: Camille Saint-Saëns
Mitwirkende: Jon Vickers · Jonathan Summers · Shirley Verrett · John Tomlinson · Maldwyn Davies · Gwynne Howell · John Dobson · Matthew Best · Colin Davis · Orchestra & Chorus of the Royal Opera House Covent Garden

“Vickers's account is well matched by Verrett. Committed conducting and strong visuals in Nolan's designs.” BBC Music Magazine

Saint-Saëns’ Samson et Dalila has all the ingredients for popular success. The dramatic story, based on Chapter 16 of the Book of Judges, lends itself to spectacular presentation, not least in the final scene as the blinded Samson summons all his strength to bring down the pillars of the temple. The opera also features a magnificent and voluptuous score, with rewarding parts for the two main singers. In this famous 1981 production from the Royal Opera House, produced by Elijah Moshinsky, the title roles have outstanding interpreters in Jon Vickers and Shirley Verrett. The designs are by the distinguished Australian artist, Sidney Nolan, and the conductor is Colin Davis.


Disc 1 
01 Samson Et Dalila - Act 1  - Royal Opera, Covent Garden 
01 Samson Et Dalila  - Royal Opera, Covent Garden 
02 Samson Et Dalila - Act 2  - Royal Opera, Covent Garden 
02 Samson Et Dalila  - Royal Opera, Covent Garden 
03 Samson Et Dalila  - Royal Opera, Covent Garden 
03 Samson Et Dalila - Act 3  - Royal Opera, Covent Garden 

Tracklisting in die Zwischenanblage kopieren