Berliner Philharmoniker

New Year's Eve Concert 2014 - Berlin Philharmonic

18. Dez 2015

Barcode: 0880242611383

The music world knows the outstanding artist Menahem Pressler for more than half a century: he was the heart of the famous Beaux Arts Trio; in 2008 when the trio decided to separate, this was the beginning of a memorable solo career. In 2013, the 90-year-old grand seigneur of the piano gave his long overdue debut with the Berliner Philharmoniker. In this touching and emotional portrait, the audience gains deep insights into the life of Menahem Pressler – from new recorded talks, excerpts from one of his Master Classes, to interviews with artists like Daniel Harding, the Quatuor Ébène, Leonidas Kavakos and Daniel Hope.

The New Year’s Eve concert opens with Sir Simon Rattle conducting music by Rameau: a suite of instrumental pieces from the opéra-ballet Les Indes galantes show French Baroque music at its finest. For his appearance at this year’s New Year’s Eve Concert in the Philharmonie, Berlin, Menahem Pressler selected Mozart: the Piano Concerto in A major, K. 488. The musicians ring in the New Year in a lively way with Slavic strains: an orchestral suite from Zoltán Kodály’s charming folk opera Háry János as well as a selection from the popular Slavonic Dances by Antonín Dvořák.


Disc 1 
01 Opening  - Simon Rattle 
02 Jean-Philippe Rameau: Suite from Les Indes galantes - Air pour les esclaves africains  - Simon Rattle 
03 Jean-Philippe Rameau: Suite from Les Indes galantes - Contredanse  - Simon Rattle 
04 Jean-Philippe Rameau: Suite from Les Indes galantes - Air pour l'adoration du soleil  - Simon Rattle 
05 Jean-Philippe Rameau: Suite from Les Indes galantes - Air pour les sauvages  - Simon Rattle 
06 Jean-Philippe Rameau: Suite from Les Indes galantes - Chaconne  - Simon Rattle 
07 Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart: Piano Concerto in A major K. 488 - I. Allegro  - Simon Rattle 
08 Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart: Piano Concerto in A major K. 488 - II. Adagio  - Simon Rattle 
09 Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart: Piano Concerto in A major K. 488 - III. Allegro assai  - Simon Rattle 
10 Frédéric Chopin: Nocturne in C-sharp minor Op. 27 No. 1  - Simon Rattle 
11 Antonin Dvorak: Slavonic Dance in E minor Op. 46 No. 2  - Simon Rattle 
12 Antonin Dvorak: Slavonic Dance in C major Op. 72 No. 7  - Simon Rattle 
13 Zoltán Kodály: Háry János Suite - Prelude; the Fairy Tale Begins  - Simon Rattle 
14 Zoltán Kodály: Viennese Musical Clock  - Simon Rattle 
15 Zoltán Kodály: Song  - Simon Rattle 
16 Zoltán Kodály: Intermezzo  - Simon Rattle 
17 Zoltán Kodály: Entrance of the Emperor and his Court  - Simon Rattle 
18 Johannes Brahms: Hungarian Dance No. 1 in G minor  - Simon Rattle 
19 Aram Khatchaturian: Gayaneh: Suite No. 1 Lezginka  - Simon Rattle 
20 Applause & End Credits  - Simon Rattle 

Tracklisting in die Zwischenanblage kopieren